

5 March 2025

Appeal to Immigration Authorities

Signed by Presidents of International Science Unions

Dear Immigration Officer,

The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), particularly Goal 17, advocate strengthening global science partnerships. Collaboration and cooperation among scientists are essential for all humanity and highly beneficial to the countries involved.

As Presidents of global scientific unions affiliated with the ISC (International Science Council), we encourage the immigration authorities worldwide to favorably consider awarding scientists an entrance visa to allow them to participate in scientific conferences and workshops, carry out joint research projects, exchange ideas, prepare joint research proposals, write joint publications, teach students, give lectures, and collaborate in any other form.

We appreciate your help in the name of all scientists worldwide.

Ehud Keina

Prof. Ehud Keinan President, International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)



Prof. Lena Halounova President, International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS)



Prof. Nathalie Lemarchand President, International Geographical Union (IGU)

Chi Rj

Prof. Chris Rizos President, International Union of Geodesy & Geophysics (IUGG)



Prof. Laura Sadori President, International Union for Quaternary Research (INQUA)



President, International Union of Microbiological Societies (IUMS)

Ti Jen

Dr. Germán Gutiérrez President, International Union of Psychological Science (IUPSYS)

Prof. Silvina Ponce Dawson President, International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP)

Prof. W.H.A. (Wil) Schilders President, International Council for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM)

Prof. Karl-Josef Dietz President, International Union of Biological Sciences (IUBS)

Prof. Ari Sihvola President, International Union of Radio Science (URSI)

Prof. Victor O. Chude

President, International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS)

Prof. Anil Kumar

President, International Union of Materials Research Societies (IUMRS)

Prof. Catherine Lamoureux President, International Union of Toxicology (IUTOX)

Dr. Santiago Garcia-Granda

President, International Union of Crystallography (IUCr)

A. Mätts

Prof. Anthony Watts President, International Union of Pure and Applied Biophysics (IUPAB)

Prof. Hiraku Nakajima President, International Mathematical Union (IMU)

Jennifer Montel

Dr. Jennifer A. Veitch President, International Commission on Illumination (CIE)

Prof. Maria Ackrén President, International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA)



Prof. Jacques Magnaudet President, International Union of Theoretical And Applied Mechanics (IUTAM)

ame Prof. Georg Gartner

President, International Cartographic Association (IASSA)

