Contributions to science and public engagement rewarded in 2018 New Year’s Honours list

A number of scientists have been recognised in the New Year’s Honours list. Pratibha Gai, at the University of York, received a damehood for her services to the chemical sciences. She is developing aberration corrected electron microscopy to characterise surfaces in real time. Philip Nelson, the head of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), was also recognised with a CBE. Nelson, who is also chair of umbrella body Research Councils UK, will be guiding the EPSRC until April when it merges with the other six research councils to form UK Research and Innovation.

Helen Sharman, the first Briton in space, became a CMG for services to science and her education outreach work. Mark Miodownik, a materials scientist at University College London, was awarded an MBE for bringing science to a wider audience.

Other scientists honoured include Martyn Davies, a professor of biomedical surface chemistry at the University of Nottingham, who received a CBE for services to pharmacy and pharmaceutical science and Robin Lovell-Badge, senior group leader at the Francis Crick Institute, who also received a CBE for his genetics and outreach work. Brian Bowsher, chief executive of the Science and Technology Facilities Council, was given an OBE for services to metrology.

In the chemical industry, Stan Higgins, outgoing chief executive of the North East Process Industry Cluster, was honoured with an OBE.

This year 3% of those who received an honour had a science and technology background, in line with previous years.